Day 2: Phuket

Asia, Thailand

We ended up having quite a late start yesterday after oversleeping. We went to bed late the night before and must have been a little jet lagged. I woke up with a fright and it took me a few seconds to realise where I was. As soon as I remembered we were in Thailand I sprung out of bed and threw back the curtains to see what I could see…and I wasn’t disappointed.

E_IMG_5580

E_IMG_5581

After oohing and aahing over the views we wandered down to the buffet breakfast at the hotel. I had planned quite a full itinerary for the day, but as we were both feeling quite sleepy (and we have more time in Phuket than we had planned) we decided to go check out the beach.

Kata beach is a five minute walk from the hotel and a stunning beach. The waters are much calmer and it is significantly quieter than the other beaches in the area.

The sea is truly bright tortoise and I can’t believe how warm it is. We strolled hand in hand along the beach admiring the view before stopping off at a dive shop to hire snorkeling equipment for the day. I absolutely loved the snorkeling. There is just something so serene about bobbing along in the ocean listening to the sound of your own breathing as bright little fish dart all around you.

After an hour or so we decided to explore the town a little and Peter went back to the hotel to get our stuff while I swam and lay on the beach.

After taking a few photos I realised that my memory card wasn’t in my camera. Sigh. While walking back to the hotel to get it we spotted a cute little market on the beach where we got the most refreshing drinks and banana pancakes.

Our hotel is at the top of the worst hill in the world (seriously, if I don’t have killer legs after this I want a refund) so we hopped into the pool to cool down a bit.

E_IMG_5583

E_IMG_5585

After grabbing what we needed from the hotel we spent some time wandering around the little side streets.

E_IMG_5588

I even found a pair of slops I have been wanting.

E_IMG_5712

E_IMG_5590

E_IMG_5598

By late afternoon we decided it was time to return to the beach and took the shuttle down from our hotel.

E_IMG_5620

E_IMG_5622

E_IMG_5625

E_IMG_5626

It was around 4.30 by the time we got there. We wandered down the beach taking some photos as we went along until we got to our snorkeling spot.

E_IMG_5636

E_IMG_5638

E_IMG_5642

E_IMG_5644

E_IMG_5645

We launched ourselves into the sea for another hour and loved every minute of it. By the time we emerged the most beautiful sunset was beginning to form, which of course meant that it was time for cocktails!

E_IMG_5647

E_IMG_5649

We watched the longboats coming in…

E_IMG_5653

E_IMG_5657

and I couldn’t resist another dip in the sea.

E_IMG_5676

I waited on the beach and took some photos while Peter went to get us drinks from the market.

E_IMG_5716

E_IMG_5714

E_IMG_5725

E_IMG_5728

E_IMG_5730

As I sat on the beach watching the breathtaking sunset it finally started to feel real and I can’t believe how lucky I am to be on this adventure. This year is going to be such an incredible experience and as nervous as I am I know it is going to be life changing.

E_IMG_5735

E_IMG_5749

E_IMG_5762

By this time we were starving and made our way to a little Thai restaurant we had spotted earlier. We ordered spicy chicken curry with coconut milk and garlic and pepper prawns. It was all so delicious!

E_IMG_5772

E_IMG_5773

We spent some time at the restaurant just chatting and playing games before going home for one last swim for the day.

E_IMG_5768

It was the perfect day.

2 thoughts on “Day 2: Phuket

Leave a comment